RENAMING OF STREETS
Municipal Council of the City of Chambly adopted a resolution to change the names of two streets and one park, at the regular municipal assembly in January. First of all, the name Colborne will be eliminated and replaced by Ostiguy Street and Ostiguy Park. Moreover, the current Ostiguy Street will become Petrozza Street, to bring to the forefront the role played by these immigrant community builders and bear witness to a remarkable case of integration.
The name Colborne will disappear from the Chambly landscape. The street and park were named in honour of Sir John Colborne who, in 1838-39, was responsible for repressing the Patriotes rebellion. Nicknamed “Old Fire Ship” in Lower Canada in reference to his merciless war practices, the municipality no longer wishes to showcase this name on its territory and is withdrawing it.
Ostiguy Street, named in honour of Joseph Ostiguy (1831-1893), will replace Colborne Street and the name will also be used to rename Colborne Park, as of April 1st, 2018. This general merchant, located in the building currently housing the library on Bourgogne Avenue, was married to Émilie Saint- Germain. He was also mayor of Chambly-Basin from 1884 to 1889.
Finally, the current Ostiguy Street will become Petrozza Street, to pay tribute to Alfredo Petrozza, founder of Tre Colori Restaurant, who passed away in March at the age of 87 years. The latter opened a restaurant in 1967 with his brother and father-in-law. The establishment has become an institution in Chambly and celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2017. This honour will promote the name of a family that is part of Chambly’s community builders. Coming from the ranks of immigrants, like many Italians after the Second World War, these individuals were embedded into the local community and made their mark as entrepreneurs. They contributed to the expansion of the downtown area and, thanks to their persistence, created an indispensable attraction in the region.